Car Care Council Women’s Board Announces 2015 Scholarship Winners – UnderhoodService
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel


Car Care Council Women’s Board Announces 2015 Scholarship Winners


The Car Care Council Women’s Board announces the recipients of its 2015 scholarships for high school and secondary students in the automotive aftermarket. This year, the Women’s Board gave a record $28,000 in scholarships.


Recipients of scholarships include:

High School:
• $3,000 – Sarah Koepsell-Schmieg; GM Automotive Service Educational Program at Dakota County Technical College
• $3,000 – Katherine Ramage; mechanical engineering at Pennsylvania State University
• $3,000 – Hannah Van Norman; heavy equipment at Alfred State College
• $1,000 – Audrey Ivie; automotive technology at Snow College

• $5,000 + AAPEX trip – Esther Son; automotive technology at Skyline College
• $5,000 – Perla Veloz; automotive engineering technology at Ferris State University
• $4,000  – Stephanie Garcia; GM ASEP at Southeast Community College
• $4,000 – Catherine Harms; automotive service technology at Portland Community College

“Our Scholarship and Education Committee was gratified by the quality of the applications we received from talented and deserving young women from across the country,” said Vonda A. Lee, Women’s Board chair, scholarship and education, and director of sales, special markets and retail, Beck/Arnley. “We congratulate all of our scholarship recipients on their accomplishments thus far, and are pleased to help support their dedication to pursuing a career in the automotive industry.”


In addition to the Car Care Council Women’s Board, GAAS collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups:
• Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN)
• Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)
• Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)
• Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)
• Automotive Parts and Service Association
• California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers’ Association (CAWA)
• Kentucky/Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)
• Midwest Automotive Parts and Service Association (MAPSA)
• Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS)
• North American Council of Automotive Teachers (NACAT) Education Foundation
• New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)
• Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)


The following foundations and organizations also collaborate with GAAS to award scholarships:
• Auto Care Association
• Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association/Overseas Automotive Council
• Automotive Communication Council
• Breslow Foundation
• Dayco
• Gates Corporation
• Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund
• Leadership Development Network
• Michael Busch Memorial Fund
• Mitchell 1
• Multi Parts Supply
• National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
• IHS, Driven by Polk
• Standard Motor Products
• Stant Corporation
• University of the Aftermarket Foundation

Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at the Auto Care Association at 301-654-6664 or [email protected].

Click to comment