ASA Honors Member, Industry Achievements At 2015 ‘Celebration Of Excellence’ – UnderhoodService

ASA Honors Member, Industry Achievements At 2015 ‘Celebration Of Excellence’

ASA-Logo-300x154The Automotive Service Association (ASA) held its “Celebration of Excellence” July 22 at the GM Heritage Center in Sterling Heights, Mich. – a site near ASA’s NACE | CARS 2015 events in downtown Detroit. This traditional awards dinner honors the achievements of ASA members and its industry partners.

Dan Risley, ASA’s president and executive director, hosted the program, which opened with a candid and humorous presentation by 16-time NHRA Funny Car Champion John Force. Force was accompanied by his daughter, Brittany Force, who was the 2013 NHRA Rookie of the Year. In addition, the Automotive Management Institute (AMI), led by its new president, Jeff Peevy, recognized the 58 graduates who earned the Accredited Automotive Manager (AAM) designation this year.

Awards presented during ASA’s Celebration of Excellence included the following AMI scholarships:

• The Tom B. Babcox Memorial Scholarship, received by Benno Ceyer, owner of Weimer Machine/Automotive Repair Specialists, Berwyn, Illinois.

• The BodyShop Business Magazine Scholarship went to Justin Kime, office manager of Kime Collision Corp., in Standish, Michigan.

• The Arrowhead Automotive Specialty Market “High Octane” Scholarship, awarded to Taylor Hill, service consultant, Larson’s Service Inc., Peabody, Massachusetts.

• The Emil Stanley Merit Award, presented to Preston Osborn, service manager, Seyfer Automotive, Wheat Ridge, Colorado.

Also presented were:

• ASA’s Phoenix Award, which recognizes an ASA Collision Division member for his or her contribution to the automotive service industry. The Phoenix Award went to Dan Stander, FIX AUTO Highlands, Littleton, Colorado.

• ASA’s Alpha Award, recognizing an ASA Mechanical Division member for his or her generous and far-reaching contributions to the automotive service industry, went to Vernon E. Menke Jr., Menke’s Automotive Repair, Newburgh, Indiana.

• The ASA Legislative Award recognizes those who have made an impact on legislative and regulatory activities. Ray Fisher, executive director of ASA-Michigan, was recognized for his efforts to build support for Senate Bill 430, a bill that amends the insurance code to prohibit insurers from requiring automotive repairers to use a specific vendor or process to procure parts and other materials.

• The ASA Partnership Award, which recognizes an individual, group or company that has voluntarily worked with ASA to further the industry and the association. Painters Supply was honored for its above-and-beyond support of NACE | CARS 2015.

• The ASA Benefit Provider of the Year, which is presented to a sponsored benefit provider in appreciation of its relationship with ASA, and for the value, quality and professional service it offers ASA members. For the second year in a row, the award went to AutoZone. Lisa Kellett, business development manager, accepted the award on AutoZone’s behalf.

• The Chairman’s Award of Excellence recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to ASA and the automotive repair industry. This award went to Robert Redding, ASA’s Washington, D.C., representative and Dan Risley, ASA president/executive director.

ASA’s next awards program will take place in conjunction with the association’s annual trade shows – the International Autobody Congress and Exposition (NACE) and the Congress of Automotive Repair and Service (CARS). Both shows will be held Aug. 9-13, 2016, at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, California.

You May Also Like

MEMA Issues Statement on Tax Relief for Working Families Act

This measure contains the restoration of one year deductibility of research and development expenses, a key legislative priority for the association.

MEMA, The Vehicle Suppliers Association issued a statement regarding the House overwhelmingly passed on January 31, the bipartisan, “Tax Relief for American Families and Workers Act.” This measure contains the restoration of one year deductibility of research and development expenses, a key legislative priority for MEMA, The Vehicle Suppliers Association, said.

Federated Introduces February Free Fuel Fridays

Federated will announce the four winners on its Federated Auto Parts and Federated Car Care Facebook pages, each of whom will receive a $50 gift card.

PRT Launches 22 New Products on Complete Strut Assemblies

The new items come to expand the PRT portfolio in North American Market and represents more than 12 Million vehicles in new coverage.

BendPak to Debut Eight-Armed Car Lift Concept at NADA

Octa-Flex improves technician productivity, convenience and ergonomics, according to BendPak.

PRT Heavy Duty Presenting Innovations at HDAW ‘24

PRT is exhibiting a full line of shocks and air springs for heavy-duty applications.

Other Posts

Mitchell 1 Names ‘Thank You Thursdays!’ Sweepstakes Winners

Six auto service professionals in the industry each won a $100 gift card.

The Pronto Network Congratulates 2023 ASE Master Techs

Ian Sharp and Colin Gallagher received a $1,000 cash prize and a swag box filled with prizes from sponsors.

Transtar Industries Launches Remanned Transmission Products

The company provides a sustainable solution for transmission products and simplified complex vehicle repair.

Take 5 Oil Change Celebrates 1,000th Location Grand Opening

The newest service center is operated by franchisee Purple Square Group and located in Fort Pierce, Florida.