2010 North American Car and Truck of the Year Winners Announced – UnderhoodService

2010 North American Car and Truck of the Year Winners Announced

This year was only the third time in 17 years that one automaker has won both awards.

A jury of 49 veteran automotive journalists has selected the Ford Fusion Hybrid as the 2010 North American Car of the Year and the Ford Transit Connect as the 2010 North American Truck of the Year.

It was only the third time in 17 years that one automaker has won both awards. Honda won both awards in 2006 and General Motors won both in 2007.

The awards are unique because — instead of being given by a single media outlet — they are given by automotive journalists from the United States and Canada who represent magazines, television, radio, newspapers and websites.

The awards are designed to recognize the most outstanding vehicles of the year based on factors that include innovation, design, safety, handling, driver satisfaction and value for the dollar.

There were three car finalists: The Ford Fusion Hybrid got 241 points, the Volkswagen Golf/TDI/GTI got 146 and the Buick LaCrosse got 103.

There were three truck finalists: The Transit Connect had 213 points and beat the Chevrolet Equinox with 183 points and the Subaru Outback with 94.

Juror Csaba Csere said, "Though not the first hybrid on the market, or even the second or third, The Fusion Hybrid is simply the best one ever built. In addition to delivering terrific mileage, it looks and drives like a regular car — and a very good one indeed."

Jim Mateja, of the Chicago Tribune, said, "A U-Haul that fits in your garage. Holds people and soooo much of their stuff — bikes, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, skis, tents, boats, ladders, furniture, you name it. Defines multi-purpose and boasts a reasonable price even when you add side and rear windows and back seat."

To be eligible, vehicles must be "all-new" or "substantially changed" from the previous model. This year the jury considered more than 50 vehicles and finally focused on 16 cars and 10 trucks.

Michelle Collins, vice chairman automotive at Deloitte LLP, was responsible for counting the ballots, which jurors sent directly to the accounting firm. The winners were kept secret until a news conference this week at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit.

At that news conference Collins handed over the car and truck envelopes to Tony Swan, a member of the awards organizing committee and a senior editor at Car and Driver magazine. Swan announced the winners.

Last year, the North American Car of the Year was the Hyundai Genesis and the North American Truck of the Year was the Ford F-150.

This is the 17th year of the awards, which are funded exclusively by the jurors. During that time:
• Domestic automakers have won North American Car of the Year nine times. Japanese automakers have won three times. European automakers have won four times. A Korean automaker has won once.
• Domestic automakers have won North American Truck of the Year 11 times. Japanese automakers have won four times. European automakers have won twice.

Here are the vehicles on which the jurors voted:

2010 North American Car of the Year nominees:
• BMW 335d
• Buick LaCrosse
• Cadillac CTS Sport Wagon
• Chevrolet Camaro
• Ford Fusion
• Ford Fusion Hybrid
• Ford Taurus/Taurus SHO
• Honda Insight
• Kia Soul
• Mazda3/MazdaSpeed3
• Mercedes-Benz E-Class
• Porsche Panamera
• Subaru Legacy
• Suzuki Kizashi
• Toyota Prius
• Volkswagen Golf/GTI/TDI

2010 North American Truck of the Year nominees:
• Acura ZDX
• Audi Q5
• Cadillac SRX
• Chevrolet Equinox
• Ford Transit Connect
• Honda Accord Crosstour
• Land Rover LR4
• Lincoln MKT
• Subaru Outback
• Volvo XC60

More information on the awards — including the names of jurors as well as previous finalists and winners — is available at: www.northamericancaroftheyear.org.

You May Also Like

SMP Introduces 276 New Part Numbers

Included in the release is new coverage for 77 product categories.

Standard Motor Products (SMP) has introduced 276 new part numbers since the start of the year. Included in the release is new coverage for 77 product categories, and 43 part numbers for 2022 and 2023 model-year vehicles.

Evident in this release is SMP’s continued commitment to the hybrid and electric vehicle market through its Standard and Four Seasons brands. This release includes a universal Battery Pack Charging Cord for electric vehicles, as well as a multitude of parts for hybrid vehicles. Brake Pedal Travel Sensors are now offered for several hybrid models, including the 2017-11 Lexus CT200h and 2019-2014 Toyota Highlander. Park Assist Cameras are now available for the 2012-2010 Lexus HS250h, and a Power Sunroof Motor is now available for the 2020-2013 Nissan Pathfinder. A total of 88 new Sensors, Switches, Actuators, and Connectors have also been added, including Power Door Lock Actuators, Charge Air Coolers, and Vehicle Speed Sensors, expanding SMP’s powertrain-neutral coverage.

Mitchell 1 to Hold Shop Management Workshop in Orlando

Registration now open for two-day training event.

Continental Offers 12 New Blower Motor SKUs 

Applications deliver late-model coverage for 20 popular import and domestic vehicles.

Dorman Launches New Repair Solutions

Among the new releases are Dorman OE FIX repair solutions designed to help save time, money or increase reliability.

Opus IVS Announces Launch of Master Class Free Training Series

Seminars and coursework focused on advanced vehicle technologies for those wishing to advance their skills.

Other Posts

Autoshop Solutions Partners With Turnkey Marketing

Both companies only focus on the automotive aftermarket and have the same goal of keeping those bays full.

AP Emissions Releases January New Part Number Update

The release includes direct fit EPA converters covering more than 6.6 million vehicles in operation.

.01 Micron Superstar Filter

The .01 Micron SuperStar Filter includes a differential pressure gauge and comes with mounting brackets.

Dayco Expands H-D Belt Kit Line

Dayco says six new SKUs cover hundreds of thousands of Class 8 fleet vehicles on the road today.